Razor

I finally break down and buy a new Gillette three-bladed razor to replace the old Gillette two-bladed razor…

The Best a Man Can Get
May Someday Be Good Enough

My previous razor I cheerfully mock:
Two blades, both as sharp as the heel of a sock.
The hair that it leaves must be tweezered or pincered,
And all of my comments must surely be Sensor’d.

This week, sick and tired of perpetual stubble,
Of scraping in vain, I discarded my double.
Three blades: just as good as I hope they will be?
Or, rather than two, will I simply Mach Three?

– The Yellow Doggerelist

(September 1998)

Copyright © 1998 Stephen S. Bates

Leave a Reply

