Artistic Needs

How my Art Doth Depart

I contemplate the palette knife
And brush, and nearly faint;
Still happily I live my life:
I have no need to paint.

I looked upon a chisel sharp
And hammer, and I gulped,
But at my failing did not carp:
I have no need to sculpt.

What I have sketched with pen and ink
Should be against the law,
But I’ll not drown myself in drink:
I have no need to draw.

But as my doggerel I read,
It’s not a pretty sight:
With downcast eyes, I must concede…
I do have need to write.

– The Yellow Doggerelist

(Fall 1998)

Copyright © 1998 Stephen S. Bates

Leave a Reply

